make it monday: sight word sticker books.

Standard

I know this will take up a lot of your copies, but I think this idea is way too absolutely genius not to do it.  You can also make even smaller versions and double sided print (even though this takes a lot more time and effort) so you can fit in on less sheets of paper if that is an issue in your school.

SIGHT WORD STICKER BOOK!

This will obviously work better with younger students, but I’m sure you can adapt the idea for higher grades, as well.  The basic idea is that each student has their own “book” of sight words with an empty space next to them.  As they master each word, they are given a sticker to put next to it.  I don’t know about your students, but my first graders are easily motivated by a simple sticker.  I suggest laminating the books since this is something several of them will tote around all year and will want to bring back and forth between home and school to show off.  I also suggest using specific stickers so children cannot add their own when you are not looking (I know some will be tempted to do that, and since the true purpose of this book is to easily assess student progress, it would defeat the point). 

And because these books are so portable and easy to flip through and mark, they are things you can easily pull children for during transition or quick lull times like the computer lab, library, etc.

Leave a comment