for me friday: door silencer.

Standard

I know this is a small thing that does not make a huge difference in the long run, but it is “For Me Friday,” and I am going to write about it.

I cannot tell you how many times my teaching has been disrupted or I have lost my train of thought because of a slammed door.  Whether intentional or accidental, the loud, sudden noise of it throws me off, and I know it has scared my younger students on several occasions.

I ran across this idea via a friend of mine who is using it in her newborn daughter’s room to alleviate the stress of trying to sneak the door open and close while the baby is sleeping.  I don’t see why it cannot be transferred to the classroom, though.

It is made out of thick fabric and elastics that hook on to either side of the doorknob.  It is thick enough to prevent noise yet thin enough to allow the door to completely close.

Now for me, this is one of those things I think I would rather buy than make… they are $8 on http://www.etsy.com/listing/93606628/latchy-catchy-the-original-door-jammer?ref=v1_other_1, and shipping is free.

If you have the time, however, I am sure it can be easily made using supplies such as hair elastics and a swatch of thick fabric.  Making it yourself would especially be cost-efficient if you need to make several of them.

I cannot wait to try this!

Leave a comment