make it monday: notebook envelopes.

Standard

I saw this idea on the heaven-sent Pinterest (probably one of the most revolutionary things to ever hit education).

It can be used for many different organizational purposes (which I am obsessed with), but my favorite suggestion I have heard from them comes from our instructional coach at the school I am working at.  She thought they would be great to include in math journals.  I took this idea and ran with it.  How great would it be to have these in journals to hold manipulatives we are currently working with, notecards with formulas for older students, little calculators, whathaveyou.  Not only will it save time by not having to pass out these materials at the beginning of each math lesson, but it will also hold students responsible for their materials and give them the opportunity to safely carry them home for further practice.  They can move all about the room to work in various settings and have everything right there with them!

Now I am sure there are several ways to make and alter this idea to fit your needs, and I have to admit that I have not actually made one yet, but I fully intend to soon enough.  I will copy what the original creator wrote about it, though, as well as provide you with a link to her site about it.  She used it in a travel journal.

“My favorite inclusion is a manila catalog envelope that has been cut and the bottom, folded and stitched into the book so as to form two envelopes, concealing when opened two small coin envelopes inserted between them. I’ve added a wrapping closure to keep everything secure.”

http://cindyleaders.blogspot.com/2010/05/amazing-versatile-expandable-travel.html

Leave a comment